My Eyes Adored You. . .

waiting-room.jpg

So I’ve come across the ultimate Doctor’s office waiting room song. You think I’m kidding but trust me. . .I’m not.

I’m sitting at the Doctor’s office today waiting to go in (btw, I have an upcoming post on the fact that while there, I let this lady go into the office ahead of me, she signed in before me for the same doctor and it cost me 40 minutes! Never again.) Anyway, I’m sitting there, listening to the music at perfect volume –which is important–and I heard the song.

So if you will, click on this link http://audio.isg.si/audiox/?q=node/9544 go below the ads, click play, shut your eyes and picture yourself in the waiting room. You there? Enjoy. . .

Tell me it’s not perfect. Go ahead. . . you can say it.

15 Responses to “My Eyes Adored You. . .”


  1. 1 Tuesday March 20, 2007 at 8:26 am

    I closed my eyes and immediately I felt like I was in some tragic 70’s movie. (The camera slowly zooms in on my tear stained cheek) I am in the waiting room as the love of my life is under the knife to remove the massive tumor threatening her life. All the while flashbacks of our life together are playing in my mind…picnics in the park…walks along river Seine…the food fight at that outdoor cafe…getting caught kissing by your parents…oh I remember it so well. Get better baby…please. I need you!

  2. 2 Tuesday March 20, 2007 at 8:28 am

    I closed my eyes and imagined and immediately I felt like I was in some tragic 70’s movie. (The camera slowly zooms in on my tear stained cheek) Waiting in the waiting room as the love of my life was under the knife to remove the massive tumor threatening her life. All the while flashbacks of our life together are playing in my mind…picnics in the park…walks along river Seine…the food fight at that outdoor cafe…getting caught kissing by your parents…oh I remember it so well. Get better baby…please. I need you!

  3. 3 Bill Hampton March 20, 2007 at 8:29 am

    You’re feeling my vibe Tuesday. Thanks for playing. . .

  4. 4 The Scolai March 20, 2007 at 8:54 am

    Great song! But the reference is wrong. How could anyone mistake Frankie (Too Many Hits To List)Valli, for Paul Anka? I remember this song well. Sixth grade in ’75,doing my best to get past just kissin’ with Mary Worthington…. Those were the days!

  5. 5 Bill Hampton March 20, 2007 at 9:10 am

    Alright. . .who sang the song? When I pulled it up on YouTube yesterday it was Frankie Valli, but here it was Paul Anka. Who was it?

  6. 6 The Figurehead March 20, 2007 at 10:08 am

    Yep, I’m feeling it. Here’s the image that came to mind:

    I’m a young strapping coal mine worker dressed in 1970’s tight blue jeans, a slightly lighter denim shirt tucked in, a thick brown belt, and cowboy boots. I get a message from the foreman that the hospital just called – she’s in labor and the baby is coming soon. I rush to the hospital in my Chevy Blazer and wait…rubbing my eyes…stroking my mustache…smoking cigarettes because back then they didn’t kill you.

  7. 7 Bill Hampton March 20, 2007 at 10:10 am

    Man. . .you guys are good.

  8. 8 The Scolai March 20, 2007 at 10:19 am

    Performed By Frankie Valli (Recently Seen As Rusty, on the Sopranos),
    Written By: Bob Crewe and Kenny Nolan.
    I don’t know where they got Paul Anka.

    • 9 ukisim March 9, 2011 at 4:11 pm

      yip I’d have too agree with ya it is Frankie Valli an the 4 seasons sing this song where the hell they got Paul Anka from beats me, not taking nothing away from Paul Anka but Frankie and Paul do sounnd alot simillar

  9. 10 spectaprod March 20, 2007 at 12:54 pm

    I see something much sadder…

    Still in the hospital waiting room, still reminiscing, the wife is still pregnant… but she’s married to my best friend.

    See I rushed back from the big city to the small town, her mom called me and told me come quick.

    I’d lost complete contact and didn’t know what was up, that she’d married Thom in the end, that she was pregnant, that her pregnancy was complicated, or that a small part of her always wished I hadn’t run off that night she told me she was going to go to college. I was scare because I was planning to stay home and work a year so we could afford to get married.

    I didn’t know that she got her teaching certificate and returned home to our small town hoping that I’d come back, or that Thom had become the local pastor and that she originally called him hoping to find me.

    And now here I sit in the waiting room trying not to let Thom see my tears as she struggles to tell him how much she loves him, and ask me why I ran away and never called. The doctor brings the baby and Thom holds him in one arm, and her hand in his free hand as she slips away. And me – I’m staring out the window…

  10. 12 hooliganmind March 21, 2007 at 6:43 am

    You guys are a total bunch af amatures…..you can plainly hear that this is a total teen love scene from a cheesy 70’s movie involving a t-top trans am, mullets, boot cut jeans, cheap beer, a field, and a girl with feathered hair and some sort of jacket with a lot of tassles on it.

    Picture this, our love struck high school mullet headed star takes his feathered haired maiden to a field where they consume a large quanity of cheap beer while laying in a field listening to music played on the 8 track and both t-tops are off and the doors of the old trans am are wide open. “If you loved me you would….blah blah blah”. Add a slow crowd clap in there somewhere and you have the perfect precursor to any modern nauseating teen angst movie.

  11. 13 Chris March 22, 2007 at 4:28 pm

    I close my eyes and I picture myself in the waiting room, of the emergency room, because listening to this song made me take a butter knife and jam it into my ears. Oh, and Tuesday posted twice! What an idiot! I love you Tuesday. Seriously man.

  12. 14 The Scolai March 22, 2007 at 8:29 pm

    Pour Out, I disagree. But, man, IAROTFLMAO!!!

  13. 15 Suzy Q March 23, 2007 at 8:21 am

    All I can say is that I feel so sorry for you that you were stuck in that doctor’s office for so long listening to that crap. You must go to my doctor! That was straight-up ear torture.


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites

About Me

My name is William D. Rhodes Hampton. People who know me call me Bill. My friends call me Hampton. Fun Fact #1 - The "D" doesn't stand for anything. I was born and raised in Michigan and now I call Nashville, TN home. I have a beautiful wife and two of the most gorgeous little girls you've ever laid eyes on. We live in Franklin, TN where we're active at The Journey Church. Blogging is new to me, but I'm very interested and excited to learn more about it. I'm officially entering the conversation.

