Tapout guys. . .What the?. . .

So I had read about this but hadn’t seen it yet. Two nights ago I’m flipping channels and came across the new MMA reality show by, I’m assuming, the guys who run Tapout. Are you kidding me? The guys who host this thing are awful for MMA. I can say that with confidence and I know nothing about them. I can’t even tell you their names except for Freak #1 and Freak #2.

Here’s the deal. . .the fight I saw. . . some kid from Liddell’s camp against another guy (Valencia?) was a great fight. It was on the HD Vs. channel so it looked fantastic and the camera angles and sounds of the fight were really good. Best I’ve seen. However, any credibility the show had was lost anytime F1 and F2 appeared. MMA is getting credibility as a legit sport b/c of guys like Dana White. This is a real guy. An in your face promoter of his passion. F1 and F2 are WWF personalities.

Get those guys off the freakin’ air.

Has anybody else seen this? What do you know about F1 and F2?

32 Responses to “Tapout guys. . .What the?. . .”


  1. 1 BT June 8, 2007 at 8:21 am

    I guess they thought they could get away with “anyone” doing the hosting since they are marketing to people willing to pay $50 to see a fight that lasted a grand total of 100 seconds. I pay $50 and here’s the stats I read about the guys I watched! (Whose the idiot here?!)
    “Quinton (Rampage) Jackson received US$225,000 for taking the belt from Chuck (The Iceman) Liddell. Liddell, in the loss that took less than two minutes, made $500,000 not counting bonuses – that’s more than $4,400 per second.”

  2. 2 Hooligan June 9, 2007 at 11:05 am

    Actually there are 4 freaks they only show three on the show. The other owner of Tapout is still a professional fighter and avoids the show. Two of them spent a little time in undercard circles prior to the now present explosion of MMA into the mainstream world. The one saving grace to the freakshow known as TAPOUT is that they have mucho loyalty to their fighters. When other sponsors pull out and the fighter is booted from the UFC these guys do all in their power to get the fighter back up and fighting again. Dana as much as I like the guy will typically boot a guy from the UFC if they have not won at least two of their three fight contract deal.

    I prefer SPRAWL gear myself.

  3. 3 Tim June 13, 2007 at 9:03 pm

    Freak is a good word for these guys. They are all about their tattoos and wacky clothing get-ups. The show is interesting seeing the behind the scenes fight lead up. The guy I saw tonight Matt Majors fought this big out of shape black dude. The Mask guy is the # 1 freakazoid. Did these guys ever fight? They just come across as not knowing much about MMA.

  4. 4 wdwzd June 25, 2007 at 7:36 pm

    Hey Bill, TAPOUT_WTF! I felt the same way. Just when I MMA really had a shot a going mainstream along comes this shit, and I mean shit. Whats up with the cartoons and this dumb ass called Mask, Skyscrape and Punkass. The actuall concept of the show has potential but who are they trying to promote this shit to. I think there trying to convert wrestling fans to MMA. I think the UFC better get a grip on this shit. IT’s bad enough that they alow them dumb ass hair cuts, next will be the costums, I hope not. Come on TAPOUT, loose the shit and get real, Pease Out All. Gene

  5. 5 Scoot173 July 31, 2007 at 7:31 pm

    In the Army we would call Mask a pussy wanna be. How many jumps you got outta how many aircraft chump?

  6. 6 gp August 3, 2007 at 8:41 pm

    Well, maybe if you’d give it a chance…follow it for a few shows…then you’d be able to leave a more educated statement on the topic of Tap Out. But to just rag on it wildly, as if YOU are the judge, jury and executioner of what’s good TV and what’s not? Well, you need to know more about Tap Out before you go hating on it. “Mask” is freak 1–He loves MMA as much as Dana White, and I’d venture to say that he takes pretty good care of the fighters he sponsors. Mask creates all the artwork that you see on the Tap Out merchandise and gear that they sell. SkyScrape and Punkass are his friends, and he gave them their jobs because he likes them as friends, and they are basically the only real family that they each have–They “get it” more than you realize. They sponsored Matt Hughes back in 1998-1999 when nobody knew who Matt was. That’s what they do: They scout up-and-coming fighters and sponsor them before the fighter ever really makes it big. And for that, 99% of the fighters stay “on” with Tap Out due to the loyalty that Mask showed them in their unknown years. Hate to say it, but those guys know what they’re doing. The Tap Out logo on the octagon mat at all the UFC events is not cheap. They are fairly big players in the MMA industry. But what do I know, maybe you’re right: They’re just a bunch of goobers.

  7. 7 gp August 3, 2007 at 8:44 pm

    do a wikipedia search, and get educated on Tap Out (if you really do care to know what and who they are). I personally think it’s a cool thing that they do. Wouldn’t be a bad life to travel from show to show, watching and being in the middle of MMA events all the time.

  8. 8 scottallen August 8, 2007 at 9:05 pm

    Man, you nailed it. I host a talk radio program and was talking on the air about this show the other day.

    The love that these guys show for the sport is unquestioned and their loyalty to the athletes that they sponsor is admirable. But that’s not the issue. The way these schmucks represent themselves could set a horrible precedent for MMA. Costumes and makeup?!? Are you kidding me? But that’s only half the problem. The lead guy that wears the makeup and likes to bark people’s names has the social skills of a wannabe “cool dad”, trying a little too hard to relate to his junior high son. Every interaction just comes off as awkward and a bit uncomfortable. To be honest, seeing these cartoon characters chat it up with some of the sports’ well-established, highly trained athletes even makes me a little uncomfortable – embarrassed even. On the subject, here’s a good drinking game: consume after every half-ass handshake/hug (which, in and of itself, doesn’t even look natural). You’ll be drunk within 10 minutes.

    Ultimately, they do support the sport in a big way and that’s worth something. However, as minor as some of the show’s “subtleties” may seem, they could, in the long run, be doing a disservice to MMA. The premise of the show alone is cool enough. Let’s lose the pseudo pro wrestling shtick.

  9. 9 Todd August 9, 2007 at 12:12 am

    gp, I think you need to take your own advice. They are not listed.

  10. 10 ohjeremyhatesyou August 13, 2007 at 2:31 pm

    FYI these guys have been around for years. They have been in the forefront of MMA; However people that might have poked in for 5 minutues here and there would not know that. Yes they like to look silly but its MMA not a law office.

  11. 11 ali August 15, 2007 at 3:57 pm

    I get that what they do is a great thing for up and coming MMA fighters but I feel the makeup is not necessary. They would be taken much more seriously without the costumes. Punkass seems more level headed and no nonsense between the three. Again I like the premise of the show just not the hype. I wish them luck.

  12. 12 ali August 15, 2007 at 3:59 pm

    Oh and for the haters just turn the channel dude.

  13. 13 frosty August 15, 2007 at 6:00 pm

    Todd… you need to get your foot outta your mouth and do your research before insulting someone…

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TapouT_%28TV_series%29

  14. 14 Bill Hampton August 15, 2007 at 10:04 pm

    I have to tell you. . .I still watch the show and look forward to it b/c the behind the scenes on the fighters is really, really good. However, the 3 ass clowns that run this thing are ridiculous and to use the word of one commenter. . .embarrasing. Seriously, w/ the exception of punkass who I think is pretty legit, these guys are weak. Next thing you know we’re gonna have Junk Yard Dog fighting Sgt. Slaughter for the light heavyweight belt. Look out Quinton.

  15. 15 Stevie August 15, 2007 at 11:07 pm

    Theres more than 1 fight on an UFC event, plus any sporting event can be a blow out or a quick finish, despite what u pay…jackass

  16. 17 Kellea August 16, 2007 at 7:38 am

    Bill,
    I’m with you. I love the sport of MMA and I think Dana White is ultra professional- anyone can see that.Although, F1 and F2 are very entertaining I am not sure I understand the theatrics. I would love to know the history behind those guys.

  17. 18 Hugh August 16, 2007 at 5:27 pm

    I like the show myself. For how many seasons have we watched Ultimate Fighter wanted to the training in more detail. So far this series has given more interesting incite into the diferent levels of MMA competitors and some of their training.

    If the geezas wanna turn up dressed like that, fine. I’ll tolerate it since it’s what they wanna do, it doesn’t harm shit plus TapouT clothing is decent. I mean, how much crummy MMA kit is there out there right now?? it’s 95% junk.

  18. 19 Dude August 18, 2007 at 8:18 am

    Dude,
    Maybe it’s an act but they get to do their own thing. They’ve been around quite a while now, so they can afford to do what they want.So what if you have to schlep out out of bed M-F and put on a tie or whatever. Their act ain’t so entertaining to me, but if you got the money and the time (believe me I don’t) let your freak flag fly!
    Quite hating and just enjoy the show or change the channel.

  19. 20 HALO August 23, 2007 at 8:48 pm

    Can anybody say that they are probably Ex-Dope dealers, Do your homework before you start talking about what these guys represent. I agree with most of you Goood Luck to those guys

  20. 21 B Sun August 25, 2007 at 3:41 pm

    First off, I bet the majority of you people writing on here own something by Tapout so stop hating. Second, don’t use Wikipedia to search stuff cuz the companies or people who don’t like them can edit it so it isn’t legit all the time. And for SCOOT173, not everyone needs to go into the Army to be a badass. I aint hating on the military cuz I support them in all they do, but fuckers like you give the military a bad rep by saying the shit you say. I run into burning buildings for a living and you don’t hear me calling these guys pussies cuz they don’t. That’s not their passion. These guys are fucking doing what they love to do, bringing guys in the MMA world exposure that they might not get for awhile cuz it is so hard to get into the WEC or UFC or IFL or any major fight organization. Ya’ll are just hating cuz your NOT them!! And one little show isn’t going to change the MMA world, whether it be good or bad. The fights are what is going to change the MMA world and as of right now, all it can do is continue to grow. JAMIE VARNER- FUTURE WEC LIGHTWEIGHT CHAMP!!!!

  21. 22 Jim C. August 27, 2007 at 7:58 pm

    The “Leader” does nothing but bark people’s names–over and over again. That’s it! I think he does it because if you bark someone’s name a lot you must be “close” with them and if you do it loudly you are “exciting” and you must be having “fun.”

    The tall guy says nothing–ever. About two words a show, tops–but he has a weird wig so that is “edgy” and “extreme” and that is what is “cool” with “the kids” today.

    The third guy is not loud so that means he must be “smart” and he uis the brains behind the biz. If they are successful businessmen, anyone can make money on this stuff right now.

  22. 23 CUbuff August 28, 2007 at 10:15 pm

    These guys make MMA look like the WWF. Lets all put on some makeup or an afro wig and act like we know whats up. What a joke. Its like a clown car whenever they pull up to a fight.

    And what’s up with the introduction to the Tapout show. That might be the dumbest animation I have ever seen. You can tell this whole thing is a two-bit operation. Have a good 15 minutes of fame, boys!

  23. 24 apellis August 30, 2007 at 9:28 am

    you people have no idea what you are talkin about. these guys are great for the MMA world. They are taking little known’s in the game, and giving them sponsorship and recognition in a big sport. it takes guys a long time to get their chance at “The Big Time”, and these guys are giving that opportunity to the well deserved. it is money well spent, both for their products (which are top of line), and for MMA. you haven’t seen enough of the show, and you don’t understand them or the sport. they have names like B.J. Penn, and Matt Hughes that they have helped…they don’t suck. follow the show and see who they have already helped, and you will certainly see the good they are doing.

  24. 25 rick August 30, 2007 at 11:27 am

    Yes, of course, we have freedom and these Tapout guys are free to like like fools and be posers and make money doing it.

    The real point is, and has been made many times, that they are bad for the sport.

    Personally, I prefer IFC. I like the team aspect, I like the lack of a cage to leverage against (not to mention being able to see the fight) and I like the growing international aspect.

    I think that WEC cagefighting will become relegated to the “WWF-side” of the sport, ultimately showing the has-beens and the not-quite-readys (may be the new ultimate in UFC) and the IFL will be where we see quality fighting.

  25. 26 donal logue August 30, 2007 at 8:11 pm

    I watched a few episodes last night on versus and after the tough guy/over the top intro, and after getting past the silliness of the makeup and costuming- the real heart of this show and these guys came rushing through and made me a real fan-

    THEY CARE- quite simply put- THEY CARE and take time to really support those they take a shine to- regardless of where they are from- These guys are risk takers (and successful ones at that) on the front edge of a phenomenon from early on and they are dream makers for kids like rob roy who lived with his mom in a shelter- I like it

  26. 27 Peter August 31, 2007 at 5:08 pm

    These guys are the biggest sponsors for the fighters. You can not compare Dana White who promotes the events with the Tapout crew who sponsor the fighters.
    This show is shown on Versus and only MMA fans watch it anyway. You will not see your granny watching it. So do not be afraid that this show will hurt the MMA in any way. It rather educates the fans from what life circumstances these fighters might be coming from and how hard it is to make it up to the level of the UFC.
    Many fighters you see and cheer for maybe would not be there if not for the Tapout guys.
    So be easy on them.

  27. 28 Hardballer September 2, 2007 at 12:53 pm

    Love Tapout and everything it stands for. I enjoy the show also. I am curious as to the backround of Mask and Punkass. I would also like to know what they did previously. I will continue to watch and enjoy the show!

  28. 29 Martini September 2, 2007 at 6:40 pm

    I am a huge MMA fan, been watching the UFC’s since it was tournament style, and finally after years of it being an illegal sport look at what it has become, I have gone to countless shows and throw UFC parties every month when the fights are on. I watch a lot of MMA ( UFC, WEC. Pride, and sometimes IFL )I came across the Tap Out show by mistake and I love the show. I really do not care what the guys are wearing, I love the fact that they really know the sport and they care about their fighters, Dan( Punkass) will even corner them when he has to.
    Anyone who really knows the sport ( not the newbies that are just catching on ) can appreciate this show for what it is, 3 really cool MMA guys looking to give an MMA fighter a chance to showcase his talent. FYI did anyone watch the WEC fights in August? Sherron ” Rob Roy” Leggett who’s episode was just on Versus fought on that card, you know he can thank the Tap Out Crew for that.
    Just to put it out there, I would love to see you Charles ” Mask ” Lewis without your camouflage on your face…

    Martini – Female 34 and loves MMA!!!!

  29. 30 Rick September 27, 2007 at 8:25 pm

    I’m a big MMA fan and I love the TapOut show! Don’t be so damn serious about everything! Have some fun! I think Mask Punkass, and Skyscape are really good at what they do. And rich too!

  30. 31 Sunshine February 3, 2008 at 12:16 pm

    I really enjoy and commend the Tapout crew for what they’ve done. I don’t think people really get why they do so well. And people who don’t understand business are very critical of what these guys are doing. Just because what someones nickname or the way the dress or for that matter the way they act isn’t like “everyone” else doesn’t mean that they can’t make the business their own. I think its very comical that critics say that the Tapout crew is wierd and freaks, but all I have to say to people like that is: The Tapout crew is doing something damn right to become so successful. Who wouldn’t want to be around that one of a kind energy that Mask, SkyScrape, and Punkass give off? And anyone that doesn’t like it, is just jealous beacause they don’t have enough confidence in themselves to do it. Keep up the GREAT work guys!!!


  1. 1 Tapout. . . « Hampton Trackback on August 31, 2007 at 12:42 pm

Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites

About Me

My name is William D. Rhodes Hampton. People who know me call me Bill. My friends call me Hampton. Fun Fact #1 - The "D" doesn't stand for anything. I was born and raised in Michigan and now I call Nashville, TN home. I have a beautiful wife and two of the most gorgeous little girls you've ever laid eyes on. We live in Franklin, TN where we're active at The Journey Church. Blogging is new to me, but I'm very interested and excited to learn more about it. I'm officially entering the conversation.

